Slant *        6        Forum
Home Home Home
The Place to Go for Slant Six Info!
Click here to help support the Slant Six Forum upgrade!
It is currently Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:42 am

All times are UTC-07:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 102 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:32 pm 
Offline
Supercharged
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:32 pm
Posts: 7371
Location: SW Washington
Car Model*: 1954 Dodge C1-B8
Mark,

Check your PMs.

Joshua


Top
   
 Post subject: Start-up Video of Raquel
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:19 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 11:22 am
Posts: 3596
Location: Sonoma, Calif.
Car Model*: Many Darts and a Dacuda
Check this out:
Run Video on Youtube


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:37 pm 
Offline
Turbo Slant 6

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:05 pm
Posts: 770
Car Model*:
Looks good, but I dont get no sound with it. I am probably doing something wrong.


Jess


Top
   
 Post subject: video
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:39 am 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:26 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: CBS Newfoundland Canada
Car Model*:
doug no sound , something must have happened with the upload :?:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:41 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:26 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: CBS Newfoundland Canada
Car Model*:
doug what chysler ecm box are you running? hard to pick it out on youtube.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:15 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:32 pm
Posts: 4927
Location: Working in Silicon Valley, USA
Car Model*:
I have a "chrome box" and also an MSD 6A
Currently running on the chrome ECU but i am ready to try the MSD again... it was giving me restart problems just like what was recently outlined in a thread posted here. Time to try the MSD with a different coil to see if that fixes the issue.

I am narrowing down to the final "shake-out stuff for the Las Vegas season opener race.... I better get everything "wrapped-up" this weekend!
DD


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 5:32 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 4:26 pm
Posts: 1164
Location: CBS Newfoundland Canada
Car Model*:
good luck doug , hope she`s in a good mood and ready to run :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Raquel Up-date (Twin #2)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:54 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:32 pm
Posts: 4927
Location: Working in Silicon Valley, USA
Car Model*:
OK... so far, she has been good to me.

We are 3 races into the season and this engine is doing fine and "getting it done".

Best time so far, 12.74 @ 105 mph on the spray.
We have made a total of 17 NOS passes, all in the 12.7 to 13.0 range, depending on track (traction) conditions.
Also 5 "motor only" passes, 4 of them at 14.5's and one at 14.9 (with webmaster Chuck in the car)

We had a 600 Holley carb. go bad on us in Las Vegas, now there is a 750 Eldy on the engine.
Had one of the NOS hard lines pop-out of it's ferrule at Redding, fixed that.
A small oil leak at the pressure gauge fitting needs attention but that's it... so far, so good.

So the goal was (is) to get a strong engine into the race car the will run in the 12's.. all season long. It looks like we are well on our way to meeting that goal... knock on wood!

As a side note, at this time last year, engine #3 was going into the car. All said, we used 4 different engines last year, two were cast piston 170's with a turbo that "got the best of them".
DD


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:06 pm 
Offline
Turbo EFI

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 11:21 pm
Posts: 1395
Location: long beach ca
Car Model*:
Guzzi (twin #1) is in,running and driveing, 5 miles so far,at the custom glass shop haveing windows made as I type,gotta get pinging out before I drive anymore,will post pics of progress soon,mark


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 8:00 pm 
Offline
Turbo Slant 6
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 654
Location: SFCAUSA
Car Model*:
Resurrecting this thread for a second...Doug, in the Twin #2 thread you cc'd the original head and found out it was going to make your compression to high, so you opted to use a different head.

Why did you not just use a thicker gasket to gain some cc's?

Or anyone else know why?

Reason I ask is on my build I am locked in on both sides (block & head) and this is my only fudge point to lower my compression.

_________________
<img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3173/2992308402_5481afb26e_t.jpg">


Last edited by stonethk on Thu May 21, 2009 6:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 4:12 am 
Offline
Board Sponsor & Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 11:08 am
Posts: 13995
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Car Model*:
I have used 2 FelPro gaskets stuck together with spray copper permatex to bring a 11:1 motor down to about 10:1. Never a problem for me and I did it twice.

Lou

_________________
"You mean you still have a Slant 6 in that thing?"


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 10:56 am 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:32 pm
Posts: 4927
Location: Working in Silicon Valley, USA
Car Model*:
Me, I don't like to "double-up" head gaskets... and the selection of thicker head gaskets is limited.
Since I have a number of nice heads with different cc chamber sizes, I review those first.
DD


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 102 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7

All times are UTC-07:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited